To everything there is a season….

Tonight I stood at my kitchen window and watched the sun go down.  It literally took less than 4 minutes from the time the golden globe touched the horizon until the last sliver of light disappeared out of sight.  Wow.  Time seems to move so fast, and faster yet as we age, am I right??

As I peruse all the many graduations on my Face book page, I can’t believe how many there are!  Our own Christa-Belle graduated from Texas A&M a couple weeks ago. Graduated from college!!  What ?!?  She has plans and dreams for her future and we are so proud of her.  Her degree is in Leadership. She has an internship at a local church for the summer. On to a new season!

IMG_6896

About a month ago, Tyler got engaged to a beautiful young woman named Rebekah.  Yes, Tony & I will be in-laws soon.  They also have plans and dreams for their future together and we are so happy and proud!  Tyler started a new job at his church this week as Creative Pastor. On to a new season!

Tyler and Bekah engaged

Whatever shall we do??

Well, we shall see what plans God has for us – plans to give us a future and a hope!  I am blessed and excited to see what is in store – for our kids and for us!

We were blessed to be able to go on a family vacation to Boston and New Hampshire in May.  The last family vacation with just us four.  We had a wonderful time visiting the sights of Boston, the coast, the mountains in New Hampshire, and spending some time with Tony’s family.

IMG_7261

Tony’s dad, Carmen & his wife, Sue

TonyKandyCoastIMG_7007IMG_7397IMG_7342IMG_7327IMG_7264

In the meantime, the seasons are a-changing.  School is out and summer is approaching. We got our garden planted, and it is doing well – especially the spinach and jalapeno peppers!  This year we planted tomatoes, bell peppers, jalapeno peppers, yellow squash, zucchini, cucumbers, green beans, spinach, lettuce, and some onions. I think I always try to plant too much!

I also recently finished two quilting projects.  Both were part of a quilting class I took in the past and it was fun to finish them!  One was given as an engagement present to my new daughter-in-law-to-be!

We are also hosting a graduation party for Christa and a reception for Tyler & Rebekah, so we have lots of plans and work to get the property ready.  We did a lot of clean-up this spring; killing off weeds, mowing, digging up cactus, and trimming some trees.  I also pulled up some scrub bushes with a chain and my pickup!  Tony says I’m a redneck, but hey, it worked!  Then I planted a small bed at the corner of where our driveway splits with Marty & Cindy’s.  I used rocks that we had laying around – and there are plenty!

IMG_7640

We have quite a year we are enjoying and by December, we will all be in a new season. It goes so fast.  Please remember to enjoy every moment (well, maybe not every moment!, but most of them).  Each season has its trials, but also its benefits.  I pray you are blessed in your season.

IMG_7648

Leave a Reply

