All Creatures Great and Small

I’ve often had people ask me if I get tired of the drive to our home in the country.  My answer is always an emphatic, “No!”.  My drive is 25 minutes and Tony’s is about 40 minutes to our prospective workplaces.  And after two years, I still don’t mind the drive.  It is for me a time to pray and prepare for my day on the way in, and to relax and detach for the evening.  The bonus (or perhaps the catalyst) of my relaxing drive is admiring the changing landscape, and the many animals, domestic and wildlife, that I see every day along the way.

The title of this entry, “All Creatures Great and Small”, reminds me of a book series I read when I was younger.  The series is written by James Wight, whose pen name is James Herriot, who used his years as a British veterinarian surgeon to write stories about the animals he treated and their owners. The titles of 4 of these novels are based on this poem by Cecil Frances Alexander:

All things bright and beautiful,
All creatures great and small,
All things wise and wonderful,
The Lord God made them all.

He wrote many other books as well, but I own these 4.  I would encourage any animal lover to read them!  They are not too difficult for children to read either.  I really enjoyed his stories.  You can buy them here on Amazon:  James Herriot Books

Anyway, on that note, I thought I would share some scenery and some animals that I see on a regular basis.  Enjoy!

First, our backyard cows, baby birds hatched in our herb garden, our kitty Simba (who has since disappeared), and Tyler’s cat, Lucy.

And some of the other animals along the way home…

And some scenery….

Well, I’ll leave you with this.  The Lord God made them all!  The earth is the Lord’s and all it contains, the world, and those who dwell in it. (Psalm 24:1)

Hope you are enjoying your spring, and God’s creatures!!

1 Comment

  1. Gloria Scheib said,

    March 19, 2017 at 8:03 pm

    Beautiful photos and touching comments! Blessings for your ‘newer’ lifestyle!

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

